Baduzzi is good for food and wine

An odd day at work. Consistent and persistent issues to resolve. Nothing unusual about that. Started the day with a number of empty beds, and some discharges planned. Not usual, but also not unknown, and what we would like to achieve regularly.

The really unusual part of the day happened when I had a lunchtime walk, and then sit to eat my lunch. Took a couple of pictures and then returned to the unit, and almost instantly realised that I didn't have my mobile. Ran back to where I had sat, and the park bench was bare of mobile phones.

Recalled that when I had finished taking photos and turned around to go back to the bench, there was a schoolboy standing not too far away looking at me. I added two and two and made a scenario that he had been interrupted, and so only taken the phone. Rang Vodafone and got the sim card deactivated, and organised for a notification to Police more for the sake of insurance. I contacted S who used the Find friends App, and told me where my phone was; not too far away. 

And went to my next meeting. When I came out I was told by the administrative assistant, that someone had called, to say that she had my mobile, and the admin had sent a staff member to collect it. Later in the day, I contacted Vodafone again and got the sim card reactivated.

Worked out how she knew whose phone it was. One of the CMHC staff rang me for Mental Health Act advice, and spoke to the woman telling her who he was wanting to speak to. 

Two lessons. Both important. Trust that people are trustworthy and good people. Secondly don't create improbable scenarios to explain away one's own mistakes. I had simply walked away from where I had lunch, leaving my phone on the seat. It was found by a passerby who successfully located me.

Tonight a happy relaxing evening with friends at Baduzzi, an Italian style restaurant in the Wynyard Quarter. Hence my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.