Autumn Colors on Campus

Rain was expected later in the day, and maybe even some snow showers too. My morning travels took me to campus, where I managed a few minutes to photograph some of the remaining autumn foliage colors.

This is a view of Henderson Building, as I stood in front of Old Main. The leaves have started to come down but there are still some outstanding sections left. This is one of them.

On the left, that round, blue-green thing is the armillary sphere, which I have written about before. It is made up of several spheres which rest on the back of a turtle. It is a fun thing to photograph the world through, but I wasn't close enough to do that on this day.

I will, however, add this quote from a prior blip I wrote that featured the sphere and its turtle because it seems to describe my morning adventure:

The turtle, well, he was doing his thing, holding up the world. And I was doing my thing, taking pictures. And true love reigned. And the world kept on spinning. And everything was beautiful.

I was thinking that this may have been one of the last of the best foliage displays I would see on campus, so here is a song for the ending of things: the Traveling Wilburys with End of the Line. (The rocking chair with the guitar in it was in honor of Roy Orbison.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.