Refuge in Common Ground

To Manchester, things to do,

I spent a lot of time in one shop (a complicated transaction) being served by a young lady who was blind. AirPods in her ears so she could hear the information on her iphone, and using Braille on the phone to type. Her guide dog spends the day upstairs with back office staff. Amazing.

Out in the city centre, it’s was all about Christmas.The markets have arrived. This will be an unpopular thing to say - but I think they are too early, and too extensive. Packed streets suggested I am in a small minority. But I don’t like the modern commercial Christmas, I’ll acknowledge the festive season when advent arrives.

I took a brief refuge in St Anne’s Church. There was a good photographic exhibition, “Common Ground”, photos of inner city Manchester and Salford in the 1980’s by Howard Barlow. Well worth a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.