One of those yearly events…

Every year there’s a morning when you open the blinds and snow has turned the world white for the first time as winter gets under way! As it is this year it’s usually in November, though some years it has been in October or December. It always makes me feel so happy and today was no exception. This is exactly the view I saw as I lifted the blind this morning.
Later in the day we walked down to the lake and Jan has posted a blip from there. Today I had my ice picks with me so I ventured out onto the ice. It felt very firm but I didn’t push my luck.
Once we got back from our walk Jan disappeared into The Red House store room to sort through our Christmas goodies - that is a mammoth job! I stayed outside and split logs until it was dark. There are still a lot of logs to split so I guess that also rates as a mammoth job. As I worked I steadily stripped of my layers to stay cool.  In the end I had fewer clothes on out in minus five than I now do sitting indoors where it’s 21°C. Definitely a good way to stay warm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.