Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Gentle Monday

After my rather crash-bang weekend I have had a much gentler Monday.  Early this morning I ambled round the nature reserve.  It was incredibly beautiful.  I've always loved these two trees - a beautiful young beech and a dead one, twined in eachother's arms.  The red kite likes to survey its territory from the top of the dead one.  Not there today, but I did see the heron again - or rather, a distant right-angle of head and neck poking up from the rushes just out of shot to the left.  It would be so nice to walk over there but the way is blocked by a branch of the river and a strict 'no-entry' policy on the part of the Wildlife Trust.

Apart from that, the birds seem to have survived the fireworks on the whole.  The little ones were all around - robins heard but not seen, blackbirds and various tits, and I spent ages watching a woodpecker getting its scoff from the boughs of a rather decrepid willow tree.

Nothing else to report, apart from bill paying :(  Have a good remainder of the day/evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.