Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Red vase

It was pouring rain most of the day today.   After bowling I came home and decided I had to clean house as I could not stand it anymore.   Of course, it was mostly just the floors that were bothering me so I swept, vacuumed and mopped.  I don't know why I mopped because the dog has wet feet every time she goes out and comes back in.   

Then I tried to figure out what to do for my photo of the day.   It had been a while since I used the light box so I set it up and put my little red vase/jug in it and then tried different things.   This collage is mostly what I liked of all the photos I took.  I also did some photos with the mirrors but they were not what I wanted.  Working with setting up a still life is always a learning experience and I don't know that I will ever be happy with what I do.  Mostly with this, I like the colors even though the black background was not the best.  I tried the white and a silvery gray but those were worse.    

So this is it for Tuesday.  

On another subject, I am doing the online class on Perception with Kim Manley Ort called 30 Days of Perception.   In this class we are learning how to not name things and how not to tell a story as most photos do name the subject and sometimes tell the story around the subject.   So I am finding myself thinking in terms of a photo for blip, photos that don't name or tell anything and then there is also another Facebook group that I belong to that has prompts and photo style photos for the week.   So my photo brain is working overtime to come up with photos with all these things.   It is a challenge but I do enjoy it as I found myself in a photo slump where I felt like I was stuck on the same kind of photo.  

Tomorrow might be a photo that I perceived to be nothing and it will have no name or story but will fit one of the prompts of the FB group!  

Photography is fun and I do like learning to see differently!       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.