The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Nibbled edges

Perfect window of sunlight
All the wet, rain-weary flowers unfurl their faces
Nature's playing ping pong with our perceptions:
Snow hovers on the horizon
Yet we have food, and fire, and music
Yet we'll be merry, and survive the cold!

An attempt at an acrostic, where the letters at the start of each sentence spell out the object in the picture. (The final Y is just for emphasis, unless spelling rules have changed!) It's been so long since I attempted poetry, apart from this week on blipfoto: bear with my rusty rumblings, please!

CleanSteve's sister Rosie came over, and we went out for lunch at a nearby hostelry, where I ate my own weight in roast beef sandwich. I may never walk again, let alone eat. It's been so long since I ate beef that Mad Cow disease springs to mind, but I've probably had that for years..

The sun did shine for about five minutes so I nipped out onto the back step, and blipped these little bi -coloured beauties. The promised rain did not hang around long, and the snow has not yet hit us, though the temperature has dropped sharply. As I wandered around the picturesque town of Nailsworth, trying to locate the framer's shop, I shivered and thought of going back to bed as soon as we got home again.

That is what drinking cider at lunchtime does! A "nice cuppa tea" soon revived me, and I was able to listen to the last episode of The Cazalets on radio 4 via iPlayer. The next volume being serialised starts on Feb 18th. The author, Elizabeth Jane Howard, is apparently writing a fifth Cazalet novel, set in 1958. Meanwhile, now that there's a gap between volumes and radio dramatisations, it's back to Monica Ali's Brick Lane for me! No one can accuse me of not reading widely, though my poetry may leave something to be desired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.