The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

The Rangefinder and Bob Hope

A few years ago I found a Yashica GSN Electro35 rangefinder in a cut out bin at a Goodwill thrift shop and added it to a small collection of old cameras that I have displayed in our den, along with my collection of Rick Brant Boy Scientist books. I like the look and feel of rangefinders though my experience with them is limited. Mostly I like the ones I have because they remind me of my Uncle Bud.

Bud was my mother's half brother and, in addition to being an incredibly gentle man, was an accomplished diving coach and an award winning photographer. As a kid I remember the Leicas that were his go to cameras and thinking that one day I would have a camera and take photographs of exotic places and strangely costumed people.

My mother's family tree was filled with broken branches and new growth and though she loved them all, it was obvious that it was Bud that was her favorite. She told me that in his "wild oat" days he was a handsome devil and cut quite a wide swath through the showgirls and socialites in New York City. Apparently, back in those pre-Depression days, he had reason to really dislike Bob Hope, but when I asked her why she claimed she didn't know. I think she did but it probably wasn't the sort of thing a mother spoke about to her son.

I've never tested this particular camera so I don't know what it would take to be put in top working condition. I think one of my goals for 2013 will be to learn what I need to do to start cleaning, repairing, and using my old cameras. While I'm at it maybe I can figure out why my uncle disliked Bob Hope quite so much.

By the way, I never got a job with National Geographic but I did manage to sneak in a bit of traveling, camera in hand, and have the pics to prove it.

..... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.