Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Some time ago my mum brought me a wool wreath. She'd bought it from a friend at a fair and... I think she bought it out of kindness, but it wasn't a good looking wreath at all. Really chunky and not really good handicraft either. I stared at her and it with horror and said noooooooo thank you! It's a monster! She thought that I could use the wool for something, so I kept it. It's been hanging in a plastic bag on a hook for almost two years, I think. Now with all the creative stuff going on at work I suddenly thought of it. We are needle felting at work, or rather... my talented coworkers are. :) I showed a photo of it to my coworkers and they were as stumped as I! I also showed it to my boss and she wasn't sure what I thought of it but I saw on her face that it wasn't her taste either... :D
So, today I deconstructed the 'thing', feeling a bit bad... I mean it is another artists work, however I feel about it. I'm trying to see it as recycling and giving the materials she used another life. Well, not all of the materials... This is not felted. It's wrapped. She used a base of isolation foam and black tape (the kind you can use on electrical stuff), then she's wrapped a layer of wool (not washed wool...smelly wool...) and then a layer of curly (not washed and smelly) wool on top of it. She's used a fiber string, perhaps it's cotton, I'm not sure, to bind (!!) it all together. The string is black and the wool is mostly grey scale, white and some tiny streak of black. Then she's made two flowers of sorts that is fastened on the wreaths. That, I think, is really needle felting! At least the fastening part, not the flowers. In the shot you see the flowers... and some grey. This I've put in a laundry bag, soft polyester for underwear, and it's now in the washing machine on the wool program and without detergent. I'm trying this out because I have no idea how to wash smelly not clean wool. This is just a small batch. I have another small batch in water in a plastic container in the bathroom. It's just sitting there at the moment. I want to see what method is best suitable. Fingers crossed for the washing machine! :D 
I'm using this for needle felting. I need to work up my skills. I've made a bird shape today. It was supposed to be a Robin, but I have no red wool, so it's going to be a 'blue' Robin. :D 
I also want to make som gnomes for my indoor fir tree. Yoda needs company. :)

Edit: The washing machine method went really well! But, it's still rather fat, so I think I need to ad some detergent after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.