Sunrise in Tenterden

Sunrise over the fields towards the 12th century church of St Mildred. The imposing tower was built in 1461.

A very early start this morning. I had a few hours to myself and decided to go on an adventure by bus. It worked really well. First a bus from Tenterden to Rye. Rye is one of the Cinque Ports (though not one of the originals). It's a picturesque wee town. I probably haven't been there for 30 years.

My destination was Rye Harbour, a separate village. I could have walked but I'm glad I didn't because it's a far from picturesque walk through an industrial estate. The next bus took me there in about 5 minutes.

A good circular walk at the Rye Harbour Nature Reserve where I saw a little egret, a redshank, lots of lapwings, ducks and a stonechat which I've added as an extra. The reserve is a saltmarsh and has many footpaths over its acreage. There were lots of dog walkers which I imagine isn't great for the birdlife but lovely to see so many people enjoying the autumn sunshine. Good lunch at a cafe which looked unprepossessing but turned out well.

Bus back to Rye and time for a short wander which was successful in that I bought two winter hats. This is unusual as my head is on the small side and hats can be a bit of a problem. Bus back to Tenterden where I was picked up from the bus stop and taken back to where we're staying.

I've enjoyed a few hours on my own today. The next couple of days will be different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.