Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

'Grief Road'

If you've followed my journal for that long, you may remember that about 18 months ago I was taking pictures for a book cover.  This is it - and tonight I'll be going down to its launch in town.

Written by my sister, it is a book of poems about her husband, Robb Jackson, who came home a couple of days after open heart surgery in 2013, then died of a consequent catastrophic infection..  Robb was a boy from Ohio and they spent their long marriage both teaching in the English Department at Texas University A&M.  Vanessa came back to England in 2014.

I find this very hard to read.  It makes me well up.  But she's a good poet and I think it's a huge achievement.  The book is published by Iron Press based in North Shields.

For those who like poetry, here's a sample:

AFTER HE DIED

No-one asked me if I was all right.
They said, wait over there by that window,
and when you see a green taxi pull up
it will be for you.  They wanted me gone
because a hospital's early morning shift
does not like to begin with bereavement.

The driver smelled of sweat and cigarettes
and talked about how life had never
given him a chance.  At the kerb
where he dropped me, a large black glove
lay in the road, lost, I suppose,
by one of the paramedics in the dark.
I unlocked the front door and walked into a house
whose life support had just been switched off.

If I get a nice pic at the launch I'll add it as an extra later tonight.
Thanks for reading this, lovely blipfriends  xx

(Booksigning pic from the launch now added)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.