LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Programme Notes

The kids football team that I occasionally help out with were at East End Park today and got to visit the dressing room before the game to meet the players. I provided a wee bit of copy and a team photo for the programme and it was pretty cool to see them all when reading it before kick off.

I think my programme notes might have been bad luck though. My concluding sentence said that the team were looking forward to cheering on the Pars to three points today....we lost 3-1.

I used to collect football programmes as a kid, had hundreds of them, but they have all disappeared or are probably stuck up loads of lofts all over the place. I might hold on to this one for a wee while!

Very few highlights from the game but there was a fitting tribute with a minutes applause during the 4th minute of the game, remembering our former club captain Norrie McCathie who passed away 17 years ago. He wore the number 4 shirt and the fans and club arranged this tribute. Bizarrely Airdrie scored their opening goal in the 4th minute and their small group of fans celebrated the goal only for 2800 Dunfermline fans to burst into applause.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.