Whipple Dam: Reflections on Water and Ice

After the swimming season ended, they drained the lake at Whipple Dam. A major project is under way, in which many improvements will be made. Work will include lake dredging, construction of a concrete/stone wall, repairs to the spillway wall and spillway, construction of a handicapped ramp and fishing pier, repairs to the control tower, and paving of park roads.

Whipple Dam is one of my favorite summer swimming holes, and it is also a favorite photography spot. The water tends to be quite still there, perfect for reflections. And so I didn't really WANT to see it drained. But my husband talked me into going, and so we went, and in the end, it was very bizarre and interesting and I'm glad we did. For I am a lover of this place, and if you TRULY love someone or something, you will love them even in their most ugly or strange of phases.

We walked all around the lake, trying to take in the peculiarity of it all, and I took many, MANY pictures. There is still some water in the main channel and so I took the one reflection photo I could, which you may see above. The temperatures have been cold here, so some of that is water and some of it is ice crystals.

I have placed a photo in the extras so that you may see the main lake and how odd it is, with that one channel of water running through. Please compare the extra photo to this one I'm linking to, which is a more typical view of Whipple Dam with the water where it belongs.

It all looks very interesting, but it seems like something is missing. Oh yes, I know now what's missing: the WATER! The soundtrack song is Eddie Money, with Give Me Some Water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.