The Last Leaf on the Tree Is Love

Rain and very high winds were expected on this day, and I knew they would take what's left of our foliage colors. We have enjoyed the pretty leaves so much this year, and the ending of the foliage season is always bittersweet.

First thing in the morning, my husband and I took a quick walk up Tow Hill to the edge of the gameland. As we neared the top of the hill, I looked over and saw this little tree, with a single leaf - yellow and heart-shaped - clinging to it.

It seemed such a simple and yet so profound a sight. A message of encouragement from the Universe, perhaps? I like to think so. The words that sprung to mind were these, and so I'm sharing them:

The last leaf on the tree is love.

Love will lift you up. It will break your heart. It will give you reasons to live. It will leave you aching with bittersweet memories. But one thing's for sure: There ain't no cure for love.

The soundtrack song is Leonard Cohen's Ain't No Cure for Love. I'm also including a marvelous version by Jennifer Warnes, from her Cohen cover album, Famous Blue Raincoat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.