Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Uh oh

Yesterday didn’t end quite the way I had anticipated. It ended when I slipped coming down our stairs after dinner, landing in an unceremonious heap on the floor with husband watching, aghast. Which was quickly followed by me checking off three thing that were never on my Bucket List to begin with...
1. First ride in an ambulance
2. First broken bones
3. First set of crutches
Yay. Me.

In the process of falling, I broke the #4 and #5 metatarsal bones in my left foot, opened up a rather large gash on my right knee and just about scared Hubs to death. Three hours in the ER before being released home with drugs, fancy leg and foot adornments, stitches and something I’ve already come to call the “Instruments of torture.” I don’t know how people manage to go racing about on crutches when it’s all I can do to slowly and precariously make my way 20 feet to the loo.. I can think of one particularly special Blip friend who moves about like a gazelle on her crutches.

So today’s Blip is really kind a pathetic - taken while I was lying in bed with both legs elevated and cursed crutches at the ready.

Next week I will see an orthopedic surgeon to determine if the bones need to be surgically set and reinforced. Yippee. Tomorrow my goal is to get downstairs which will involve a slow process of one step at a time on my butt. But, hey, I kicked the ass of a brain tumor, so I’ve got this.

Thanks for tuning in.

Xo
Debbi

PS: and it doesn’t look like I’m going to make my goal of 5 days at the gym this week. Or next...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.