Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Ninety Six Re-enactment

I was going to go to Ninety Six National Historic Site yesterday but it rained until about 2:30 so I made the trip today.   We did not get up there (it is an hour away) until about 2:30 but many of the participants had already left for their trip home.    The park volunteer said one person had to drink six hours to upper Florida.   The people that do these living history re-enactments are really dedicated to this calling to show what the early American settlers dealt with.    We did get to see some of the tents and people which I have shown in this collage.    We chuckled at the guy taking a nap beside his tent!  The one photo in the corner is a man making a spoon out of wood!    The little girl was also dressed in 1700s clothes.   It was wonderful weather and perfect for an outdoor nap!

Jerry and I walked through the park to the pond and back for a three mile total.  I really needed that walk!   My ankle was telling me that I had not been on it enough in the last couple of days of rain.   I guess I will have to start walking here at home with an umbrella which will make it hard to hold the dog leash, the umbrella and the camera (just in case a photo pops up!)   But this week will are expecting some sunshine and fall like weather until late week. 

Tomorrow we will be cleaning up the backyard where the tree fell.  Jerry said he could probably push the bigger parts out of the yard with the tractor and then I could rake up the smaller pieces.   Why can't I drive the tractor? !!!     Not really!   It is his toy!  

I took these photos with the SX60 and it seems to be doing a little better but still having some fuzzyness when I try to zoom any distance.   Thanks Pipersmom for your help last night.   I still need to check some other things that might be causing this.   I usually get sharp photos with this camera handheld unless the digital zoom is way out to 500mm or more.     I have changed something other than what I already found so more trial and error tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.