Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Fall

This morning the dog and I were just chilling out on the couch about 10pm when there was a loud boom.  She jumped up and looked out the window at the deck  so I am thinking the squirrel knocked something over.  Of course I followed her to the window but when I looked out I saw that a tree had fallen in the back yard!!     I had just noticed that the leaves were really swirling and the wind was really blowing hard.  

We have been watching this dead pine tree for a while as the top part kept breaking off and we were thinking eventually it would get down short enough that Jerry could push it down with the tractor.   Ha..that did not happen.

It broke my heart that it fell on the swing set frame that we had bought for our first son who is 45 when he was a tiny boy.  The swing set frame is also the support for my wisteria vine which is still as green as it can be.     I can trim it back but now I have to find something to support it.  Maybe Jerry can make something with the A frames of the swingset.  He is pretty good at handyman stuff.       The tree also took down my clothesline wire but that is easy for fix.  The poles themselves are okay.    It swiped off a long branch on the mimosa tree also.

BUT,  it missed the orange tractor and my azalea bushes and our camper!   Yeah!    It was so close though!    Tomorrow when the sun comes out we will be doing yard work! 

Jerry had gone deer hunting with a friend so he missed this excitement! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.