Autumn shades

After several dreary days it was a joy to see the sun shine this morning. I spent the first couple of hours preparing dinner and baking a cake for our afternoon visit to see Molly, but once that was in the oven I escaped for an hour's walk round Stonepit Close.

At this time of year I always feel that I want to capture all the vibrant, warm shades of autumn before the darkness of winter descends. This little grove  of silver birch trees has featured before, but I love the fact that the gold of its leaves is embellished with the red and green of wild roses. Although my walk was fairly short, it lifted my mood for the rest of the day.

We had a good time with Molly, who was much improved since our last visit. She thoroughly enjoyed the apple and cinnamon cake I'd baked, and was looking forward to Christmas. Earlier in the week her partner had taken her out to the local garden centre, where she'd enjoyed seeing Father Christrmas and all the bright decorations! 

Pete and I left just before dusk and drove back along the Welland Bank. The river is certainly very high and was spilling over onto its berms. The fields next to it were also looking very soggy. On our way back we were fortunate enough to see three barn owls hunting over the fields - drifting like pale ghosts though the gloaming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.