Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Lesser Redpolls

I had not planned a bird blip today, but was going to look for a flower, by this time last year I had blipped a crocus and an iris.

Whilst looking out of the kitchen window I saw an unusual bird fly away, at first I thought it was a Nuthatch as we get them occasionally in the garden. When it came back it was clear that it was a female Blackcap (Sylvia atricapilla). We had a pair nesting in 2010, but did not see them last year.

Then I saw two little birds on one of the seed heads which I thought were Lesser Redpolls (Carduelis cabaret) and which I have never seen in my garden; now a dilemma which one do I blip? iSpot has confirmed that they are Lesser Redpolls and I have decided to blip these although they are not as clear as the female Blackcap. I think she and possibly her mate will visit again and I am not sure that the Redpolls will. Then I had a thought and I have given my female Blackcap to Mr A; I have also posted a selection of my bird pictures on my Flickr account.

When I went to feed my daughter's cats a few flakes of snow fell, but it has not snowed. The feeders were busier than usual this morning, maybe they know something I do not. There were at least four Robins, which is good as they only live for about a year as well as many other varieties of garden bird.

Many thanks for all your comments and stars for Dougal yesterday and for the good wishes for my grandchildren. There were forty one contestants in Ollie's group so he did well. Victoria has fought today, the same result as Ollie, one win and two losses.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.