Going under the Knife

I’ve been at the Nuffield Hospital since 11am, nothing to eat since last night and nothing to drink since 9am, it’s now 3.25pm and I’m ready to go to theatre. I’ve got a room with a sea view but I think I’ll miss the sunset ;-)

This is Lt Col Ben Caesar my surgeon who kindly agreed to have a selfie for my blip - do you think I’m in safe hands? I hope so!

I won’t know until I wake up what I’ve had done, I know I’m having an arthroscopic subacromial decompression, but he may be repairing the cuff tendon and the bicep depending what he finds!

The anaesthetist has his work cut out as I can’t have any needles or blood pressure taken in my left arm after the full clearance of the lymph nodes, and as the surgery is on my right arm they’ve got to find a vein elsewhere for the canula - probably my foot! But as I have the Achilles issue also on the left, he’s got to find somewhere on the right side!

Wish me luck and I’ll see you on the other side!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.