The allotment, almost tidy for winter

A fine cold morning tempted me to the allotment to dig up most of the beetroot, a couple of swedes, some parsnips and a few remaining “spring” onions. I also cleared and dug a patch where the failed fennel and the last lot of radishes had been. Lastly I raked up loads of leaves and hoed all the empty beds.

Despite working hard my hands am feet were frozen so it was pleasant to have a warming shower when I got home. Now comes the task of cooking, cutting and pickling 40 beetroot. I found a recipe where the beetroot is roasted rather than boiled or microwaved.

This afternoon we only had time for a walk in the gathering gloom before it was time to do battle with the tough old beef we had on Sunday. It was almost inedible then. It’s been minced so all being well, it should be a little better tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.