Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Musical

(Wednesday, 20/11/19)

We went to our old Church today - Holy Trinity. It's great because it doesn't take any time to get there! As part of their 50th-anniversary celebrations, they are hosting a British theatre group who have written and produced the production ROCK, all about the apostle Simon Peter. The main actors came from the UK, the choir and dancers were local. It was a good production and we got to meet a few members of the cast at the end. Their last performance will be in Abu Dhabi on Saturday.

The big thing about being back at Holy Trinity is always the big and warm welcome we get. So many old friends came and said hello, it was lovely!

In the morning, I revisited my old place of work, this time to be trained on the job I will be doing for them over the next few weeks. After a slight hiccup, I met up with my trainer, only to discover I hadn't been given access to the programme I'm going to be using, so there wasn't too much I could do.

G picked me up and we came home for lunch and to watch the air display. Unfortunately, I was so tired, I completely missed the 787 Dreamliner. :(

I have to record (for myself) a painful conversation I had with the customer service department of a local bank here whos initials, ironically, are FAB! I had "stars" that I had only recently been made aware were worth something. I had to phone to convert them. I was on hold for thirty minutes yesterday waiting for "an agent". Today, I got to a human being quicker. The kind lady told me that I had recently lost 10,000 stars. I argued that they had not promoted their loyalty scheme well and that I had only become aware that there was value there. She could see my point, but couldn't do anything, so transferred me to the Complaints Dept to lodge a complaint. Well, I wish she hadn't bothered. The person I spoke to had already dug his heels in even before I started talking to him. He was not going to budge despite the fact it would have cost the bank almost nothing. I wonder if they ever think of the damage they do when they go against the customer. It took me a while to recover from that phone call.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.