Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Dreamliner

Apologies for the TV shots, but it's the best I could get of this bi-annual event (The Dubai Air Show) which is not open to the public. We heard on the radio that it started today. I wondered if we could drive to the area of the new airport, which is in the middle of nowhere, to catch the flying display but G opted to come home. It was a good idea especially as she managed to find a live telecast on one of the local channels. I have to say, you get more closeup views of the aircraft, but obviously not great pictures.

My main image is the 787 Dreamliner because I am fascinated by this plane. I tried to get to it eight years ago but a model was the closest I managed. I haven't even tried getting to an airshow since then. The colourful aircraft in my blip has got a special wrap for its branding. It is not painted, so it can change its outfit anytime!

The other plane I was really interested to see was the Airbus 330 NEO  (New Engine Option). The skill of the pilot flying a passenger aeroplane so slow and so close to the ground is amazing. We had the usual fighter aircraft formation flying display. The UK team Blades ended Day 1 with a fantastic performance. They are the only aerobatics team that allow a passenger in the aircraft. (I'll pass).

The rest of the day has been great for a Sunday!! Productive, and I even got to have a word with my cleaner about the dusting. Had a visit from Pauline and Suzanna as G's lesson was coming to an end. I hadn't seen them for ages, so there was lots of catching up to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.