Win Some, Lose Some

The white king hasn't won a game
for days and days on end.
The queen won't stop reminding him
which drives him round the bend.

One day he pulls the covers tight
and spends the day in bed.
The next he does get up, but wears
a bucket on his head.

He mostly blames the bishops.
The bishops blame each knight.
The knights declare each rook's to blame
for getting nothing right.

The pawns stick close together.
“I'm sure we all well know
just where the blame game's leading;
it's time for us to go.”

The queen is first to notice.
“It's all gone very quiet.
Where are all our darling pawns?
Where's their precious riot?”

The king removes his bucket
And, blinking in the light,
Says, “You are right, my dear, indeed:
There's not a pawn in sight.”

The white knights help the bishops.
The bishops team with rooks.
A searching party's organised
where everybody looks.

At last they find the missing pawns
and soon forgive their sins:
when black and white pawns play together
everybody wins!

© Celia Warren 2019


It's hard to believe that I've been here for nine blipping years! For the first three I never missed a day. Since then, I've missed posting on just four occasions. In each case, having not photographed anything brilliant, I didn't blip. But my main reason for failing was to 'prove' to myself that I wasn't hooked. Of course, it proved nothing of the sort. I am totally addicted.

For my addiction I'd like to thank fellow blippers for sharing their photos and visiting mine, and the fab team who keep our site going. My membership fee is one bill I never hesitate in feeling worthwhile. Long may we continue to record moments of our life in picture form. (And sometimes words, too.)

The chessmen, who came to life during these nine years, came along to help me with my celebratory blip. If you would like to catch up with their past adventures, search using my #PP_chessmen tag! Thank you for calling in on my blipday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.