Bòtann

10 years ago the factory in Dumfries where the famous Hunter wellies were made closed down. The North British Rubber Company (as Hunter were once known) had been at that site in Heathall since just after World War 2.

Now there is a new rubber footwear company based in Dumfries, called Bòtann (the word is Gaelic for "rubber boot"). I heard about the project on Kickstarter and although I have never crowdfunded anything before, I liked the idea of the company, its ethical stance, and most of all, I wanted a pair of their boots (which are sadly, not made in Dumfries but Slovakia).

282 other people backed the project, the boots were made, and last week they arrived in Dumfries. the post brought my pair yesterday and today I wore them for the first time.

You can read more about them here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.