Kipsie

By Kipsie

Da- dah .....................

This is the lino cut I've been working on over the past two days. I photographed the peachy coloured Hippeastrum/Amaryllis in March 2014, they were growing wild in a piece of scrub near the beach in Nai Phlao where we were living. I was amazed to see them growing wild, just like the Gloriosa speciosa, a bloom we would buy in for floristry work, very expensive they were too. I had a wonderful time exploring the area during the 6 years we lived there, photographing everything I came across, then getting it identified, mainly on a brilliant website I came across purely by accident called Project Noah. I still add "Spottings" every now & then. I've uploaded 3,624 spottings, mainly from Asia, but occasionally from UK. I had a few Hippeastrum images on file with the idea that one day I would possibly do something with them. I have also tweaked/fartnarkled them in Picasa before now as web birthday cards. I was really pleased with today's result. I had to tidy up some cuts today when the light was better before inking, after Ella & I had had our power walk. We missed the rain thank goodness, but the ground was sodden underfoot so we walked down to Cockington Court, did a loop along the main drive so that she could go on the grass and I could stay on the tarmac without getting my feet wet, through the walled rose garden, the clumps of  bright pink Nerines looking a picture sheltered along the wall, & back.
The rain has been coming down all day on & off so perfect for more faffing, sketching, & the beginning of another lino cut. I need to get away from botanical, I ALWAYS end up doing something with plants. Actually, I've just thought of a brilliant subject for a lino cut but it might be a tad ambitious for a complete novice like me .. we'll see.
Easy dinner tonight, oven baked fish & chips with whole baby corn, mange tout, & garden peas.
Ella has just ventured outside, time for her little treat, then I guess it's time for bed.

Thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Wherever you are & whatever you have planned,  have a great weekend. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.