a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Baking again

Its Cathy's birthday in early January, and I always make her a birthday cake or a pastel de cumpleaños* as I now know it.  

This year she has thrown me a bit of a curve ball by telling me that she doesn't want the traditional rich fruitcake with whole almond decoration.  Instead, this year she would like an apple cake.  After some debate, her current preference is for Mary Berry's apple and cinnamon cake and this is my first attempt at it, fresh out of the oven.  I'm not expecting great things for this first attempt, but it will be interesting to see how it has turned out.  It smells great :-o

Unfortunately for those of you with a nut allergy (Incredibish) it has walnuts in it, so you will need to steer clear.

*I've decided to teach myself Spanish in my retirement, and having come to that decision have started learning already, even though I'm not quite retired yet :-)   I'm rather enjoying learning a language again.  It is a very long time since my rather poor O level French.  I am a rather more focused student of languages now than I was back at school, when I hated languages.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.