Kipsie

By Kipsie

Someone's knocking at the door,

Somebody ringing the bell ...............  & it was Josie. "Hello maid!" Turns out my husband has been frantically trying to phone me, he's rung my mum, then he rang Josie thinking I might be with her. I was here all the time but obviously have a problem with my phone, so Josie jumped in her car & drove over to tell me. Thank goodness it was Josie .. I tried to phone her without success. It's happened before. If I switch off my phone then switch it back on it seems to solve the problem. I must get it checked out. Josie made herself a cuppa while I rang John. He was NOT happy. Hey ho!!! She stayed to watch Strictly, the results. She already knew who went because she checks on Twitter on Saturday night, but all she revealed was that the bottom two couples would be a bit of a surprise. Someone had to go .. so long Saffron.
I thought Ella might like a change from roast chicken so we walked down to the Coop this morning, I tied her up outside, slightly anxious at leaving her while I went in the store, what if she slipped her lead, or God forbid someone stole her. I whizzed in, headed straight to the chilled cabinet, grabbed a pack of sausages, dashed back, looked out the door, yep still there, stood good as gold, whizzed back to look for some falafel, could'nt find any, never mind I did'nt want to leave her outside the door too long. We walked back up across the park, having the grass under her paws always puts a spring in her step, picked up a few more chestnuts.
Some of the trees still have a few leaves, the pollarded limes on Walnut Road a really vibrant zingy lime, strangely enough. Most of the growth coming from the base of the trees. The beech tree in the park  still in full leaf. It was milder this morning. I was chatting to Ella coming up the road, wondering if I took her out in the afternoon rather than morning whether she might sleep through the night rather than wake me to go out for a wee. I've missed her night time  "needs" a few times since I've been here. :(.  She is 17 .. It's a bit like thinking about getting a child to sleep through the night, not that I know about that, not having any children. Ah well .......
It's been dry all day but the rain is beating against the window now, they did forecast more rain.
Ella's towels & the Vileda steam floor cleaner pads washed. Is'nt it amazing, there was the shaggy cotton floor mop & bucket, then the sponge squeezy mop & bucket, then the flat mop/sweeper suitable for laminate flooring, next the squirty floor mop with the velcro removable pads, now an electric version, which I have to say is getting plenty of use. Swept up more leaves, chopped some kindling, found another seed feeder so topped that one up. Long tailed tits, great tits & blue tits visited so that was cool. The Magpies were hanging about too, smart looking birds but I'm not a fan of them.
I sat and did some more cutting, well quite a bit of cutting, stopped for a quick lunch, then back to the lino cutting. Another session tomorrow then it should be reading for inking. Stopped when the natural light faded. Prepared the veggies for dinner, then watched Countryfile.
Roasted veggies, chickpeas & herby sausage balls with a tahini & yogurt dressing, & spinach. Enough for dinner tomorrow as well.

The Entrance Pavillions & Gates at the Torquay Recreation Ground built in 1910 are quite grand. The detail in the pavillions incorporating the ticket offices is amazing, although one of the cast iron roof finials is a bit wonky. The Gothic windows boarded up.  The rusting turnstiles long out of action. I've found some interesting buildings and quirky water fountains during my stays in Torquay. It's fun to explore an area. I'm here until the 18th December so will hopefully find some more treasures.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.