NOT FOR MONO MONDAY!

It was another dull and dismal morning, so Mr. HCB said that he would treat me to coffee at Jack’s Coffee Shop - I think it was mainly to get his mind off the fact that he couldn’t go out into the garden!  We saw several friends in there, which was good and cheered us both up, then he went home while I went down into the town centre to do some shopping. 

In Sainsbury’s I saw these jars of Branston Pickle, and all thoughts of Mono Monday went out of the window!  These wouldn’t mean much to most people but Branston Pickle is a favourite of our younger son, Jules, who lives in Vietnam, and in fact, we always bought him a jar every Christmas plus a few other things, of course.  

The display looked a bit messy, so of course, I did a little bit of rearranging then took my photograph and I must admit it looked much better when I had finished!  Once again, no-one challenged me, so I guess word must have got around from Debenhams that I’m the "Blipping Old Dear" who goes around tidying up displays!  

When we visited Jules in February/March 2018, to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary, we took him a jar of Branston Pickle, along with a packet of Jacob’s Orange Club biscuits, both of which he used to love when he visited Mr. HCB’s mother for tea every Thursday after school - and still does, when he can get them.  I have put a collage in as an extra - not taken today, obviously, but when we first arrived in Vietnam and gave him the Branston and Orange Club biscuits.  It was his birthday the day after we arrived, so I also took him a pack of Cadbury’s Creme Eggs - but he knows me of old (I used to pinch our sons' chocolate stashes from their bedrooms and leave a note to say "The Phantom Chocolate Pincher strikes again!") so he didn’t even open the pack while we were there!

I doubt he has had any more of his favourite things since last year and although I could send him a pack of Jacob’s Orange Club biscuits and some Cadbury’s Creme Eggs, because they are sure to be on sale soon, I don’t think a jar of Branston Pickle would travel very well.

Thought you might like to see this advertisement, but Jules definitely didn't like the Small Chunk Pickle - it had to be the original one for him!

"Please the cheese -  
     bring out the Branston.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.