KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Chilly Day

With my dad happily ensconced at their home with my mom, my life is getting back to normal. It was a day of catching up the loose threads that got left behind last week.

I went to one of my favorite garden centers this afternoon on the way back from getting my hair cut. I found a bunch of good plant material: pansies, wintergreen (Gaultheria procumbens), ferns, carex, a nice trailing Vinca maculata, and a fun Heather called Calluna vulgaris 'Stockholm' which has a lovely upright structure. I love planting my big containers with winter-hardy plants and annuals. They'll go for much of the winter and when the pots of little bulbs become available around late January I'll pop those in too.

The container pictured is in the back of my house near our hot tub, just outside the family room sliding door so I can see it rain or shine. You can see the upright heather towards the back, along with that lovely ornamental kale that keeps popping into my blips. An Autumn Fern in the foreground with a wintergreen plant in the rear. There's also white pansies and a lovely small carex. 

Tomorrow it's going to rain all day with a high of 42 degrees F....brrr! There won't be any outside activities tomorrow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.