Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Don't be blind

After travel disaster number three yesterday (see back blip) I made my way home, and arrived just before lunch.  Perfect!

It gave me more time to catch up with work, although it feels completely overwhelming at times.

The phone still doesn't work, they're now sending another SIM card out.  So keep everything crossed that tomorrow I will be back on the grid.

Despite all this, I've been reminded today about the fragility of life and that you shouldn't be blind to your family and friends, and your own health.  Yes work pays the bills but it pales in comparison to your health, family and friends.

I never knew Henry Swift, we only followed each other on Twitter, but he always supported me during my kidney failure and transplant with words of positivity.  I heard today that he had passed away, having lost his battle with cancer.  I knew of his battle, and supported him like he had shown me, and we had only conversed the other day over him reading George Orwell.  I'll never forget his magic moment earlier this year, when he played on the hallow turf of the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff with his walking rugby team and he met one of his heroes, JPR Williams.  His beaming smile as he had his photo taken with him, must have lit up the stadium.  What an awesome memory!  Despite his battle with cancer, he always remained positive and was a good man, I'm sure he will be sadly missed.  I know the news has affected me today, I felt like I knew him.  Rest in peace Henry, I will miss you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.