Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Chandler

I met this young man while I was staying in Madera Canyon.  I didn't realize until the next day that I had met him about seven years ago.  He's a troubled kid with a variety of physical and mental health problems.  His mother works at the lodge. I met him originally as the shy kid with an adorable little sister who would run up to me with hugs whenever she saw me. I don't know why he was stuck living in the casita and helping out around the lodge at least through December but I suspect it has something to do with his father.

We were the only two people there so I invited him to join me for a while. We grilled our dinner and chatted over hot chocolate.  When it got too cold outside we went indoors and he told me more about his studies and interest in horticulture.  It seems like a fitting interest/occupation for him.  I do feel bad for the kid but I think (hope?) he'll be alright.

PS There are no ghosts lurking through the window.

Thanks for your generous sharing of comments and stars recently.  I'm doing my best to get back on track and am counting the days until a new year...and hopefully, a new life, begins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.