Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Amphitheater Bridge

One forecast was predicting snow in the mountains overnight.  I engaged a brief thought of getting up at 3 am to see it but decided I'd rather sleep.  It did rain overnight and was still drizzling when I awoke.  I drove to the Mount Baldy trailhead, which is as far up a car can go, but saw only a small amount of the white stuff at the summit.  On my way down the mountain, I stopped at the amphitheater bridge.  Crossing it leads to two different trailheads.  I took one for a while but didn't want to leave my car, so I doubled back rather than complete the 2 mile trail.  I was also feeling a little unsteady on many of the craggy, wet rocks. Forgetting to pack my hiking poles didn't help, either.   It was well before the lodge opened so I hadn't told anyone where I was going, which isn't the best idea when you're alone (and there's no cell service).
You can probably tell that the sky was still heavy with clouds but the sun was poking through by late morning.  I'm glad to be spending some time up here.  The cold, crisp air of the mountains Mom thought as spiritual is special...and now I do believe she had the right idea.

I spent some time talking to a young man last night: yesterday's blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.