The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

That's the tree sorted!

I went down to St Laurence's church to set up the WEA's Christmas tree for the annual tree festival, which opens on Sunday. Three from our literature class met me there: from left to right we have F, GG, and SA. I'm the one in the spotty parka, looking worried!

We got the tree up in no time. All worked well together. I'd ordered the paper decorations online and got class members to help jazz them up and write comments about the classes on them. I made the little books myself, and again enlisted some scribes. We've never had a tree at this community festival before, it's a big deal for us.

Then friend J dragged me off to the pub, where I had a cuppa. First I had to buy some numbers for our wheelie bins, because a bin war is breaking out in our street. So silly!

All of this after a busy morning spent waiting for my parcel, doing paperwork and completing an online manual handling course to pass the time. When the parcel arrived, I pulled out the orders and priced everything with great speed. I have sales events on Friday, Saturday and Sunday this weekend!

Something had had to be sacrificed, though, because of the parcel's delayed arrival (it should have been here yesterday)and it was my volunteering session. However, since I'm coughing like a 40-a-day smoker in the mornings, I think I needed the time off to rest, sort of.

Right now, I'm off to bed. I have not yet read the short stories for tomorrow's course, but Steve and I have finished watching series 3 of The Crown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.