FLOWER FRIDAY - SCHLUMBERGERA.....

…..otherwise known as Christmas Cactus.

Last year my friend’s son bought me a Christmas Cactus, which flowered on the 4th December.  It has been sitting in our bathroom for some months, and I was afraid that it wouldn’t flower this year, but a few weeks ago, I saw some tiny buds, so have been watching it with interest, talking to it and trying desperately hard NOT to overwater it.  

In September or October, you are supposed to put the plant in a darkened room or in a bag to keep out the light, but as our bathroom window is quite high up, where it has been standing is quite dim anyway, so this appears to have worked.

Then, during the autumn and winter a Christmas Cactus should only be watered infrequently to promote blooming, so just a little morning chat, rather than water has been the order of the day.  They should also be kept pot-bound and only watered, when they are flowering, once the soil is dry and as a humid environment is good for them, the bathroom is an ideal place.

A few days ago, one of the buds opened, so I was thrilled to see this and hoped that it would still be looking beautiful today and it is!  Mr. HCB asked me this morning if it would be my Blip for Flower Friday (I’ve told you before that he is as much part of Blip as I am!) and I confirmed that I would.

It was a joy this morning to get up and not see leaden, grey skies and rain - the sun is shining and the light in our conservatory is wonderful, so here is my beautiful Christmas Cactus - I love the way the light has made parts of the petals look almost translucent.  My dear Mother-in-law definitely had "green fingers".  She was very successful with all plants and her Christmas and Easter Cacti flowered year after year;  apparently, it is not unusual for them to last 20 or 30 years, so hopefully, if I look after it, it might still be with me when I celebrate my 100th birthday!! 

We are being treated to lunch today by Keith, John’s cricket buddy, to say thank you to Mr. HCB for taking him to cricket during the summer months - no doubt there will be lots of “cricket chat” and hopefully some good food! 

“If speaking kindly to plants
     helps them grow,
          imagine what speaking kindly
               to humans can do!”
Anon

P.S.  Thank you for your kind comments for my EcoBra Technical Drawing Instrument Set shot - all of which are much appreciated.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.