Kipsie

By Kipsie

This image is a fair representation of my day

which went like ....
First call of nature wake up 4.20am .... Ella went outside, came back in, went back outside, came back in ... She's 17 years old & possibly suffering from dementia, so as I'm not actually following her outside I don't know if she's had a wee or not, so just to be on the safe side I snuggle up on the sofa and wait for her to settle back in her bed in my bedroom. 7.20am I wake with a start from a nightmare shouting Police!!. Ella being deaf slept on ... Phew!! Think that might have been due to eating chocolate cake & cream too late last evening. I've got to be at Mum's for 10.30 as we're both getting our haircut so no book reading in bed this morning with my cuppa. Got to get on ... Ella's back on form when she does wake so that's good as I want to walk her earlier today. We do one our circular walks. There is a cute side to her as well as the usual feisty. She jumps off the pavement which always amuses me, & I'm always talking to her but as I said before she's deaf. Perfect timing. I head off to Mum's 25 mins from here. I've already arranged for hubby to take Mum to do her fortnightly shop tomorrow as I really won't have time to take her & get back home to see hubby before returning for Ella. I get a call from hubby as I'm driving, return the call when I get to Mum's. Can I take Mum shopping today, as he's not sure he will feel well if to take her tomorrow .............. TRacey, the hairdresser has'nt arrived at 11am, so I text her. She replied  "I'm running late be there in 5" Bish, bash, bosh. Both coiffured in 40mins ...... next stop Trago Mills. Mum's toaster has given up the ghost. A quick and relatively painless exercise. Mum would like a toaster that she can put crumpets in ... My mind automatically jumped to Mr Bean shopping for a frying pan in which to cook his fish. Hilarious! But we did'nt have time to purchase crumpets first, so I've got everything crossed that it will do the job. Next the Coop, normal chaos, plus lack of checkout staff meant we were called across to the tobacco counter to process our shop. I did mine, then I packed Mum's .. I do it every time we go. I'd make a good provisions packer. Not having anywhere to place one of the bags of Mums shopping I put it on the floor in front of the till .....Mum get a voucher for cream, nips back into the store to take advantage of the offer. I move away from the till. Drove back to CK, dropped Mum off, back to Chudders & hubby, a quick coffee as I'm now running way later than planned and need to get back to let Ella out, she might be fast asleep, there again .... Landline rings, it's Mum where is the blue bag of shopping .. Oh no!!!!!  I'd left it by the till in the store. Rang the store, they did'nt pick up the phone, I was getting rather annoyed, A, with myself for not picking it up, & B, for them not picking up the phone. Third time of ringing I got through, yes they had found the bag of shopping and there to collect. Hubby offered to collect, & drop it off at Mum's. I headed back to Torquay, Ella fast asleep but a large puddle in the breakfast room. Damn! Hey ho!!!! Never a dull moment as they say.
A quick caffeine fix, popped the damp laundry in the tumbler, then prepared dinner, I bought some neck of lamb bone in at the butchers in St Marychurch a couple of days back, it looks so good in the shop window. I grabbed some fresh marjoram, rosemary & thyme from the garden, chopped onion, celery, & garlic shoved it in a dish all together with a lamb stockpot thingy, some plum tomatoes & juice plus some water, covered it, slow cooked it, added butter beans & chickpeas an hour before eating. Did Parmesan crusted Hasselback potatoes, gave the same treatment to a couple of carrots and a parsnip, & did some fine green beans. Searched high & low for cornflour to thicken the stock, grabbed a Tupperware container of what I thought was cornflour, then just in the nick of time spotted a sticker on the side ........ Icing sugar. Bugger that was close. Nearly ruined my dinner. That would have just bout finished my day off. As it was dinner was delicious even though I say it myself. Ella & I had a little cuddle on the sofa, before I attempted to clean her eyes. That did'nt work. Plan B is still on the drawing board, but I did notice a muzzle in the cupboard. If needs must then .....

Mum rang to say thank you for hubby picking up the groceries. I said "You'll be able to have your slice of toast in the morning now". She said "There is so much paperwork with all the instructions"."Mum, it's a toaster. There are 3 buttons on the side 1. Defrost, for bread taken directly from the freezer. 2. Normal. 3 Push this button if it starts smoking. The dial is for how toasty you like your toast.
In all today has been a bit of a blur like my image, an allium seed head in the garden at Chudders that's been given a Picasa tweak.

Wishing you all a great weekend!

Thanks to Anni/ BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.