Trees and Tears

View from my third floor bedroom window this morning when I woke after a good night's sleep (except I'd put the radiator up and woke sweating in the early hours, not used to automatic heating like that). That's a golf course behind the trees. Managed to get outside for exactly fourteen moments at the afternoon break. Bitterly cold (for me), below zero tonight.

It has been non-stop sessions all day at the leadership conference I'm at for our organisation, and then translating all lunchtime for a Brazilian talking to the Dutch leader of the French division ... feels wrong to do business while we're eating (not the Portuguese way).

Gratefuls:
- stimulating and interesting sessions
- holy moments of silence, always when someone was being vulnerable, as when the new American director told us, in answer to a question, that his 21yr old son was killed in an accident only eight months ago; his were not the only tears in that moment
- the humility of truly great people

Funny moment: realized I had no soap in the shower, so reached out for the small bar left by the sink. Unwrapped it and thought it was a strange colour... turned out to be chocolate.

Not so funny moment: going down for breakfast and only the kitchen staff eating; the first session had already begun... my phone hadn't gone to German time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.