Humility and Looking

An exhausting and exhilarating day, and only managed a seven minute walk all day, but I love the trees all round the centre we're at. And thinking a lot about trees, reading The Overstory, by Richard Powers, which also makes me embarrassed to admit that I don't know what trees these are, any help from the Blipopedia? 

Quote from p145, which just have to copy down:
... Patty learns that real joy consists of knowing that human wisdom counts less than the shimmer of beeches in a breeze. As certain as weather coming from the west, the things people know for sure will change. There is no knowing for a fact. The only dependable things are humility and looking.

Extra of the room we meet in, which is a lovely room, looking over trees and fields, and all mod cons. But no wine, only water, at meals! And such weird food, I love the change, but my Alentejano friends would not be impressed.

Gratefuls:
- Kent, the British director, bringing me a gift of 4 all butter Taste the Difference frangipane mince pies, manna from heaven! (Don't worry, Mike, I'll take them back to share with you...)
- Tobias fixing my laptop
- lots of brain food

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.