Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Seasonal pursuits ...

A hard day to define in a photo, the weather having defaulted to dreich and my activities to the unphotogenic. But I have worked hard, in different ways  - Pilates in the morning, a hardworking, demanding session, followed by a quick dash home (on foot) for a second coffee and the donning of more substantial clothes than leggings and t-shirt. Then off to the church, which still held the cold of the past few days and was distinctly more chilly inside than outside. And that's where this photo becomes relevant. We worked so hard, our little quintet, on the music for Sunday's Choral Evensong, that I didn't even think of taking a photo till we'd left the building, chilled to the bone. 

The music is of the kind that is so close to my heart - a lot of plainsong (Psalm and canticles) as well as four-part harmony (The Matin Responsory and This is the truth sent from above). Mr PB sings bass, and the other alto and I take turns to sing tenor. And if you enlarge the photo, you might manage to decipher my scribbles at the top of the Magnificat - they tell me "don't sag" and remind me that I'm singing the opening intonation (it is after all a woman's words!) And then there's the mandatory water bottle and the necessary reading glasses.

I've spent the last 2 hours working on a book I'm putting together; it saves me money if I do all the laying out and editing. (Letting someone else edit your poems can be very trying, and involves a lot of proof-reading!) I'm bug-eyed and stiff, and a bit cold again. I think perhaps a wee apero while I cook the dinner ...

Risotto, since you ask. Prawn and asparagus, with lemon zest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.