A Stroll on the Pier

It was a beautiful sunny morning and as I was going for a xmas meal with my U3A photo group at a pub near Cromer, I decided to go a bit early and pop to Morrisons in Cromer and have a quick walk down to the pier. There weren't many people around surprisingly. As you can see, the workmen are still repairing the pier, the work has been going on for most of the year. I've googled it, and the work is part of a £1M council project to protect the future of the pier. 

I had a really nice meal at The Roman Camp Inn at Aylmerton, my third out of four. I was intrigued by the name and have since found from Wiki that it's the name for an earthwork enclosure on Beacon Hill, the highest point in Norfolk at 103m. It is part of the Cromer Ridge which was formed from glacial deposits from the very edge of the ice sheet. The name Roman Camp was coined at the beginning of the 19th Century by local horse drawn cab drivers to boost their trade to tourists. There's no actual evidence of Roman occupation on this site!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.