OUT FOR LUNCH AGAIN - AND DEFINITELY NOT ABSTRACT!

Once again this week, the challenge theme has “gone out of the window” but when you are having lunch with such a lovely young lady, how could you possibly worry about that?

Those who have been following me for a long time may remember our friend, Elizabeth, who used to visit us at our house regularly a few years ago.  She then went to live in an assisted living home, which is in a beautiful old former farmhouse, just outside Royal Wootton Bassett, so we don’t see her as often as we used to.  However, Elizabeth’s Mum, Janet, invited us out for lunch today because Elizabeth was going to be in Swindon having her hair cut and said that Elizabeth would like to see us. 

We duly met at The Goddard Arms Hotel, right in the centre of Old Town, and it was lovely to see them both.  After our main meal, Elizabeth was the only one who had a dessert and when the chocolate fudge cake with chocolate sauce and ice cream came, it looked as if there was enough for at least two people! However, there was no thought whatsoever of sharing with anyone, despite it saying on a board behind her that it was “Good to Share”, and Elizabeth managed to finish the lot, teasing us as she was eating it by telling us how wonderful it was.  I must confess, being a “reformed chocoholic” my mouth was watering and I think if it had been one of my sons sitting there, I might have reached out and grabbed some - but it would have been rude to do that to such a special friend as Elizabeth!

I did take several photographs of her and asked if she would mind being my Blip for today, and I think the smile was a “Yes” so here she is - and very lovely she looked too, all colour co-ordinated wearing a classy grey and white jumper with a black necklace and two pearl bracelets.  

I also took a lovely shot of us together, which I have put in as an extra - well, I didn’t think that another selfie would be a good idea - not three days on the trot - and as I still have lots of extra photographs to use up, there is also a shot showing the humungous chocolate dessert (with a hint of chocolate on Elizabeth's lips!) and another of the four of us as we were leaving.  We had such a lovely time together and hope it won’t be so long before we see our friend, Elizabeth, and her Mum again.

Under Door 5 of our Advent Calendar it said “Today you have given an impoverished family in India vaccinations for ten chicks, helping them to earn money by raising their own chickens,” which is great so I’m glad I had lamb today and not chicken!

“I cannot do all the good
     that the world needs.
But the world needs 
     all the good that I can do.”
Jana Stanfield

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.