The story of a cactus.

My dad had a flowering cactus which we called a “Christmas cactus”. It stood on the windowsill in his front room producing many beautiful blooms each December.
My mum loved house plants and dad kept them going after she died in 1990 aged 70.
I brought his cactus home with me one summer as his health was fading and he had carers visiting him four times daily. It was 2009.
It flourished on our kitchen windowsill and enjoyed the garden in summer.
Dad died in 2010.
The cactus was becoming woody and old and I didn’t want to throw it out. So I took a stem and potted it in some compost.
It rooted perfectly. Now each Christmas I have new blooms and the good memories of two lovely parents encapsulated there.
It is flowering in our kitchen by the window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.