Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Back where he belongs

I was back at the Sage this morning for a second session where David Olusoga was the interviewer. (There was no traffic chaos this morning.) The author was historian, Dan Jackson, whose book The Northumbrians has met with critical acclaim. David Olusoga gave the keynote address of the weekend and then interviewed Dan.

He is an excellent interviewer, intelligent and well informed, but allowing the interviewee plenty of space to speak. 

At Grammar School, my first history teacher was totally inspiring, but was replaced by one who made sure we knew the facts for O level. I found it boring most of the time. These two men brought the history of the north east to life, by linking events in the distant past with the more recent past and the present.

I'm pleased I managed to catch this portrait with the Tyne Bridge in the background. Despite a very tough time, growing up as one of few black people in the area, David Olusoga loves the north-east and returns often.

Julie and I had a coffee afterwards and then I scooted home in time to take Mum to the Haydon Bridge Chapel Christmas Fayre. She saw lots of her old friends there and had a lovely time. I made a few modest purchases.

Santa came (see extra) but there were no children at the time. In fact the fayre was very poorly attended. Santa gave Mum a present (a bag of what we would call "ket" in Sunderland)! Just lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.