Jon does jobs!

We got to mum and dad’s last night before 9, and chilled. A good nights sleep in mum’s tiny single 2’ 6” beds, that used to be Manda’s when we were kids. We didn’t fall out of bed, or wake until 8.30 this morning.

Jon’s first job, and the purpose of the trip down, was to tackle the garage doors. They had swelled and couldn’t be opened at all, so mum’s car has been stuck outside for months. Jon managed to get them open, and then took off the doors, worked on them and put them back. Back on now, and working, so a good result.

Mid morning we had a visit from my Aunty Sue. It was nice to see her, looking well and still working, even though she is way past retirement age. She is such a talented florist, she is always in demand.

While Jon was working in the garden I did some cleaning. The house is big, and it’s a lot of work for mum on her own, and with dad out of action everything is falling on her. I’m sure once dad is given the all clear by the eye surgeon he will be back doing at least the washing up and ironing!

After lunch we drove over to Harlow to buy a bannister and fixings to make life a bit easier going up the stairs. Mum and I also bagged bargain hanging baskets in B & Q for just £3 each. Still full of flowers.

Back home to mum’s and Jon proceeded to get the bannister fitted, while I got the Christmas tree and decs out of the loft. Manda popped round to say hello and we had fun deciding which of the 6 sets of lights were worth keeping. I put 2 on the tree and will try to sneak at least 2 sets into the bin....but they read my blip, so suspect I’ll get found out!!!

Mum cooked bolognaise for dinner and now we are relaxing. I’ve cut out a few bits for Christmas cards, which I hope to work on during this week.

Home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.