Lazy Sunday - Datura Drama

About 5 months ago when I was at the river one day with Toto I spotted a house with a huge datura tree (bush) in their front garden which was covered in absolutely beautiful trumpet shaped pink flowers but because there were a few dogs around and Mr Huffy Toto couldn’t handle them I earmarked it for the following week to go back and get some photos of the flowers.

In the end we didn’t get back there for a couple of weeks and I left Toto in the car and walked down there and unfortunately the flowers were on their way out after a lot of rain. I thought I’d take a couple of shots anyway and was leaning over the fence when up popped the lady who lives there who was pulling some weeds eeeek!! lol. She was happy for me to take some shots and was very generous and gave me a seedling in a small pot which I was thrilled about because at that time I didn’t really know what it was!

When I got home I repotted it and then put it on this old garden chair so that it would catch the morning sun and then googled trumpet shaped pink flowers. Up came datura or devils trumpets and warnings about the fact that its a poisonous plant and some kind of hallucinogenic!! Whoops!! Anyway I’ve kept it going and it has grown quite big but with no sign of any flowers developing as yet.

But overnight last night an army of little green caterpillars have attacked the leaves on the datura and also my stray tomato plant which appeared a while back in amongst the pot plants (see extra). They just about mowed down almost every leaf on the tomato so I pulled them all off both plants and squished them ugh!!!

Feeling slightly better today, still not eating much, too scared to, and think I should visit the doctor this week as I suddenly realized it could be a symptom of my thyroid playing up again!! Just what I don’t need!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.