Tuxford Light Switch-On

This morning I overslept due to setting my phone alarm, then leaving the phone downstairs. I was meant to get Jae up for football at 7 A.M. but it turned out to be nearer to 8 A.M.! Due to the ensuing panic this caused, I was wide awake and ended up staying up! 

At least I got some Christmas presents wrapped - more to do next weekend though! 

Later in the afternoon, we went over to Jeri's - along with Zeph this week. Tonight was the night for the switching-on of the village lights. Tuxford is a gorgeous little village, and even more so once it's all lit up for Christmas. There was a little Christmas market too - much less commercial than Lincoln's big official one! Brian bought me some scented wax-melts, and Jeri and Paul treated me to a mulled wine - something I had missed out on this year!

My Blip is Santa and his elves going to switch on the lights. The elves are some of Horatio's  classmates. He had the chance to do this too, but he is too cool and grown-up at ten to want to dress as an elf! 

There was a competition for the best-decorated shop window. I couldn't hear which one won, but there's a photo of my favourite in Extras.

We went back to theirs and Paul cooked us a delicious steak, ale and Stilton pie he had bought from a very cheery stallholder (see other extra!) at the market, along with some veg and a few chips. Then Jeri, Zeph, Horatio and I played a board game while Bri and the two little boys had a game of Bingo!

I feel a bit more festive after today! Our trees are up now too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.