Stumped

Liam the tree surgeon came back this morning to cut the beech trunk into pieces and take the stump down as far as he could. This is a picture looking down from our deck. Now it's up to the two local wood turners to come and help themselves. The rotten joints are lying there just in case I have to prove to anyone that the tree was potentially dangerous! Apart from the fact that it was growing over my sewage pipe, that is! Paranoid, or what!

I felt rather bad as I could hear two other chainsaws, working in different directions. I always assume the worst and maybe they did too when they heard the chainsaw here. One of them anyway - the other is cutting down woodland not far from here and he's been at it since the spring. Before long, I expect, there will be an application to build several houses, which I will fight. The council assures me that he's breaking no law as he had a tree surgeon confirm that several of the trees with a TPO on them were dangerous, even tho' there's no path or right of way through the woodland - the rest, without TPOs, he was free to remove as he wished. It's time that local woodlands had more protection - a TPO is very easily got round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.