The eve of an academic career

Tomorrow it will be 30 years since I started my first academic post at (then) Queen Margaret College, Edinburgh.

It's interesting to look at the page of my diary for the first date in my new job. From the contents of this list it's obvious that I was keen to get organised and find out a little about the 'back story' of my new department.

Some of the entries in the list look rather outdated. Whatever happened to SuperCalc?  Who would request a filing cabinet in 2019? Was the nearest photocopier really in the library?

Another interesting point is that another blipper is mentioned in this text. I must get a message to him to let him know.

The indoor blip gives away that I am still not well. However, I did graduate from pyjamas to clothes this afternoon. I am holding off my decision as to whether or not I brave work tomorrow. This depends on my sleep (or not) tonight and the state of coughing/sneezing in the morning.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.