Northumbrian winter sunrise

When my mother opened the dining room shutters to this fabulous sunrise this morning I knew that I had a blip in the bag before breakfast! This picture doesn't really capture the stunning view in all its glory, but you'll get the idea. Look carefully and you'll see some birds in flight in the left hand corner of the shot.

I was up very early to reorganise/reschedule/reallocate a number of my commitments later this week so that I can stay here in Northumberland with my mother for most of the time over the next few days. Then, when the others got up, I took my instructions from my middle sister and did some cleaning, prepared lunch, baked three banana loaves, cooked an apple and apricot crumble, filled in forms for missing premium bond records, researched cremation options, fielded phone calls, and booked trains (amongst other things) - with a good smattering of tears along the way.

Mr hazelh and I took a break mid-afternoon to call in on walkingMarj and her mother, who gratefully 'took in' one of the banana loaves. Marj's mother was a great comfort to Mummy hazelh, sharing sympathy with wise words and hope for the future.

Mr hazelh and I return to Edinburgh tomorrow. I will be back here again on Wednesday afternoon.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.