The sailors' warning

This morning was the last morning of my holiday away from the office. One of the longest breaks I have had. I have had to deal with the occasional telephone call, and email message. Nevertheless, it has been a great family time and opportunity to take off the pressure.

I woke early enough to run down to Erceg's Way, the path above the shoreline of Snells Beach and get there before sunrise. The sky was magnificent, with grand colours split by the dark clouds, which in this particular shot appear not so dark as in others. Rather more like what I saw.

The changing sky totally engrossed me, and I stopped at this point to await the moment of sunrise; above the lowest layer of clouds, you can (especially in large) just see the top of the disc of the sun. The moment of sunrise appealed to me.

S chose this above the many others I vacillated about, because of the clouds reflected in the nearest pool of water; the grass with seed heads in the very foreground; the reflection of the sun across the mudflats and the patches of water; and the blue in the sky and the water of the Bay.

The old saying (be it for shepherds or sailors) was supported today. The day became extremely windy, and with heavy showers of rain. A day to stay inside before heading back to Auckland in the late afternoon. We did venture out in the mid afternoon during a lull in the weather to plant some flowering plants in some of the new beds.

Tomorrow starts me back at work relatively gently; and there is only three days before we head back north for the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.